1. Home
  2. Advocacy
  3. Email to target
  4. UK candidate target databases

UK candidate target databases

As part of your subscription to our Advocacy tools, we also provide candidate databases for selected data sets which you can use with Email-to-Target pages.

Before using a candidate database…

We strongly recommend that you use a custom envelope for sending to candidate targets, otherwise delivery is likely to be affected. Please check this article on how to do this, or talk to support.

Which candidate databases are provided?

We provide:

  • Westminster MP candidates
  • Devolved nations candidates (Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland)
  • Mayoral candidates – note that these should be used as custom contacts rather than a postcode-matched database. Please contact support who can provide you with a candidate list nearer these elections

When are these released?

We would expect to provide a working database roughly 3 months before an election, with coverage increasing every week after making it available. We will provide an ongoing report to show you how many candidates are currently on the list and then you can decide when to launch your campaign.

While this takes place, we will clear the actual target databases (we will mark this as DO NOT USE) since it would otherwise contain out of date data. Once the election is over and candidates selected, we would update the actual databases for you to use with the new targets and close the candidate database.

Is the 2021 MSP/MS candidate database ready?


Please note that coverage will increase every week, so please take that into consideration as to when you think it’s the best time to launch. 

As of 23 February 2021, there are a total of 452 (increase from 406 a week ago) candidates with email addresses, and 412 with Twitter handles as well. Every constituency has at least one contact. 

Party breakdown

Independent 5
Plaid Cymru 34
Scottish Conservative and Unionist 49
Scottish Green Party 33
Scottish Labour 54
Scottish Labour/Co-operative 14
Scottish Liberal Democrats 44
SNP 73
Wales Green Party 19
Welsh Conservative Party 45
Welsh Labour 53
Welsh Liberal Democrats 29

Constituency breakdown

Aberavon 2
Aberconwy 4
Aberdeen Central 3
Aberdeen Donside 3
Aberdeen South and North Kincardine 3
Aberdeenshire East 3
Aberdeenshire West 2
Airdrie and Shotts 2
Almond Valley 3
Alyn and Deeside 2
Angus North and Mearns 2
Angus South 2
Arfon 4
Argyll and Bute 1
Ayr 2
Banffshire and Buchan Coast 3
Blaenau Gwent 1
Brecon & Radnorshire 3
Bridgend 3
Caerphilly 2
Caithness, Sutherland & Ross 2
Cardiff Central/Canol Caerdydd 3
Cardiff North/Gogledd Caerdydd 3
Cardiff South and Penarth/De Caerdydd a Phenarth 3
Cardiff West/Gorllewin Caerdydd 3
Carmarthen East and Dinefwr/Dwyrain Caerfyddin a Dinefwr 3
Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire/Gorllewin Caerfyrddin a De Penfro 3
Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley 2
Central Scotland 10
Ceredigion 2
Clackmannanshire and Dunblane 1
Clwyd South/De Clwyd 2
Clwyd West/Gorllewin Clwyd 3
Clydebank and Milngavie 2
Clydesdale 2
Coatbridge and Chryston 1
Cowdenbeath 2
Cumbernauld and Kilsyth 2
Cunninghame North 2
Cunninghame South 1
Cynon Valley/Cwm Cynon 2
Delyn 2
Dumbarton 2
Dumfriesshire 2
Dundee City East 3
Dundee City West 3
Dunfermline 3
Dwyfor Meirionnydd 3
East Kilbride 2
East Lothian 3
Eastwood 1
Edinburgh Central 3
Edinburgh Eastern 3
Edinburgh Northern and Leith 3
Edinburgh Pentlands 4
Edinburgh Southern 2
Edinburgh Western 2
Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire 2
Falkirk East 2
Falkirk West 1
Galloway and West Dumfries 2
Glasgow Anniesland 3
Glasgow Cathcart 2
Glasgow Kelvin 3
Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn 3
Glasgow Pollok 2
Glasgow Provan 3
Glasgow Shettleston 2
Glasgow Southside 2
Glasgow 16
Gower/Gwyr 3
Greenock and Inverclyde 1
Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse 2
Highlands and Islands 10
Inverness and Nairn 2
Islwyn 3
Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley 2
Kirkcaldy 1
Linlithgow 1
Llanelli 2
Lothian 24
Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 3
Mid and West Wales 14
Mid Fife and Glenrothes 2
Mid Scotland and Fife 11
Midlothian North and Musselburgh 1
Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale 3
Monmouth/Mynwy 2
Montgomeryshire/Maldwyn 3
Moray 2
Motherwell and Wishaw 3
Na h-Eileanan an Iar 1
Neath/Castell-nedd 1
Newport East/Dwyrain Casnewydd 3
Newport West/Gorllewin Casnewydd 3
North East Fife 2
North East Scotland 17
North Wales 16
Ogmore/Ogwr 2
Orkney Islands 2
Paisley 1
Perthshire North 1
Perthshire South and Kinrossshire 2
Pontypridd 2
Preseli Pembrokeshire/Preseli Sir Penfro 4
Renfrewshire North and West 3
Renfrewshire South 1
Rhondda 4
Rutherglen 2
Shetland Islands 2
Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch 3
South Scotland 10
South Wales Central 13
South Wales East 17
South Wales West 15
Stirling 3
Strathkelvin and Bearsden 2
Swansea East/Dwyrain Abertawe 3
Swansea West/Gorllewin Abertawe 2
Torfaen 2
Uddingston and Bellshill 2
Vale of Clwyd/Dyffryn Clwyd 1
Vale of Glamorgan/Bro Morgannwg 4
West of Scotland 17
Wrexham/Wrecsam 3
Ynys Mon 3

How do I get access to this database?

Just contact Support. If you are already using the “MSP/MS/MLA/England MP” database then this is provided free. Otherwise there may be a small charge.

What about candidate databases for councillor elections?

We do not provide a candidate database for councillor elections. There is a lot of work required to maintain candidate databases. Data changes frequently, and often use personal email addresses. This data is hard to collect, and hard to verify.

The councillor databases contain many thousands of contacts, and with candidates as well this would multiply the list by many times. It would be a massive undertaking to provide this accurately.

In addition, ward boundaries change during an election and Ordnance Survey do not release these new boundaries until after the election. It is therefore not possible for us to properly match a postcode to a ward and to select the correct candidates.

Updated on February 23, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support