1. Home
  2. page-builder
  3. User management
  4. Managing your users and administrators

Managing your users and administrators

You can use your account’s User settings to manage the login details for all software users. Follow these steps to access and manage your account admin panel.

Advanced users

You can also generate the tokens that can be used for REST data services by creating API Users

Logging in as a subaccount admin

To login and view users, you will need to enter your account admin “user name” and “password” into the client login area of the system.

US clients can login at https://us.e-activist.com/index.html

Rest of the world clients can login at https://www.e-activist.com/index.html

If you do not know your account admin details, please contact us and we will send you details via a secure file sharing system.

This user is commonly referred to as your “subaccount admin”. You should decide very carefully who gets access to your account admin panel, as they will be able to update all usernames and passwords for users of your Engaging Networks account.

Once logged in, go to Hello your name > Account settings. From here, you will see the following navigation items available for the different administrative tools available. These include:

  • Users management
  • Permission Groups
  • Content Ownership
  • Tokens management

Managing users for your account

To create a new user, first click on Users. You will see a list of existing users in the account, as well as the option to create a new user. You can edit existing users by clicking on the edit icon.

To create a new user click:

You will need to fill in the following information:

Field

Description

Email Address

This will be the user id.

Although we require the user ids you create to be in the form of email addresses, they do not necessarily need to be valid addresses, as we won’t send emails to them. Using a valid email address will allow the user to request a password reset if necessary.

Password

This should be secure and only shared with the user.

Display Name

Displayed when the user logs in

First Name

User’s first name

Last Name

User’s last name

Group

This will be the permission group the user belongs to.

If you have permission groups, then all ‘User’ user types need a group assignment before they can log in. ‘Admin’ and ‘Super Admin’ user types do not require a permission group assignment (any assignment is ignored).

Once you have filled in the required information click the Save user button Save user

User Type

All new users, by default, are created as the ‘User’ user type. If you wish to change the user type, simply click on edit and select the user type, and click save user.

User Type

Description

User

Default for all new users. Requires a permission group to access the software.

Admin

Has access to all modules in your Engaging Networks Dashboard except the Admin module. A permission group is not required for this user type.

Super Admin

Has access to all modules in the user management areas. A permission group is not required for this type of user.

Permission Groups

The Permission Groups tool allows you to set access to specific modules and content at a granular level within your Engaging Networks account and is required for all users in order to access the software. It is broken down into three sections, permissions, content view, and data view.

Permissions

Each module in the Engaging Networks dashboard has been given task specific permissions that can be set for each group. You first select the module you would like to grant users access to and then, set the subsequent permission that is related to it. You can grant users view only access or give them ability to create, modify, or delete content. Each member of the permission group is able to view each other’s content but not that of other permission groups.

Content View

Sometimes, you will want one group to have view only access to the material another group creates. This functionality allows you to specify which other users (or groups) can view content created from the group you are setting up.

Data View

Sometimes, you may want to limit a group’s access to data based on specific constituent information. With this functionality you can restrict a group’s access to the data in you Engaging Networks account by standard constituent data fields such as postcode, state, or country. If you are interested in enabling Data View in your account please contact your sales representative for details.

For more information on creating Permission Groups click here

Content Ownership

The Content Ownership tool allows you to assign ownership to content created before the permissions tools were released or change the owner of newly created content in your Engaging Networks account. With the release of our permissions tools, each piece of content created by a user will also have that user assigned as the content owner. This will limit access to the content to only those users who are in the same permission group as the owner.

For more information on assigning Content Ownership click here

Manage Tokens

If you click on Tokens you will be able to set both the public and private tokens for your account. These have to be generated if you want to use either our XML data service or our data API.

The public token is required for all widgets and any XML data service call (such as a count of the number of people to take an action, or details of who these supporters are, returned in ‘XML’ data format). The private token is required if you want to transfer supporter data from your Engaging Networks account to your own servers via our data API tools.

Please visit this page for full details of creating and managing tokens.

Account preferences

There are several account level preferences that can be configured from the admin section of your account under Account preferences. Please visit this page for a breakdown of these settings.

Updated on January 28, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support